Tags

This month I’m participating on Lorna Jane’s Move Nourish Believe Challenge through Sweat Pink! Since February is a month that tends to drag along a bit, I thought it would be fun to mix it up and add some challenges into the month. Everyday we were given an activity, and I thought I’d share the first 5 days:

Monday: “Sweat-it-out! -Show us your favorite way to sweat!” For this day I focused on biking, specifically using my bike trainer! It’s a great way to avoid excuses and get up and move, no matter what the weather is outside.

Tuesday: Change it up! – Sweat a new way! Select a workout from movenourishbelieve.com/category/move and show us your post-sweat session selfie.” I tried this yoga sequence after running, and will definitely be incorporating some of these stretches regularly.

photoSolid stretch- I need to do this one more often.

Wednesday: Let’s get planking! – Plank for at least five minutes today! You can split the planks up.” I’ve never done 5 minutes of planks in an entire day before, but didn’t find it too difficult to complete. On Thursday my arms and obliques definitely felt it!

Thursday: Buddy up! – Workout with a friend today!” My workout today was teaching pilates class, because a friend from grad school is in my class! It’s the best I could do with a long day of teaching and my job counseling.

Friday: “Fave Friday! – Show us your five fitness favorites! Exercises, people, whatever gets you moving and motivated!”

photoClockwise from Top L: My bike (LOVE IT), Brooks Adrenalines, the gear I drag to races with me, my Runkeeper App, and Pilates equipment!

Week one of this challenge (“move”) is complete, and it was great! I like having something to specifically think about throughout the day. The best parts for me was trying that stretching video (especially the stretch I posted above) and trying the 5 minutes of planks. I tend to do 2:30-3 minutes max of planks in a day, but I think I’m going to try to increase my time again because I think my body has grown accustomed to what I’ve been doing.

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s one of your favorite stretches? Did you have a favorite “move” from the week?

 

