Tags

The Olympics are here!!! I’m writing this on Thursday night as I’m watching snowboarding and skating, and it’s getting me so excited for the next two weeks! I wrote a post the day the Olympics started in 2012 that explains why I love celebrating the Olympics so much, and those reasons hold true today.

I loved getting to visit the Olympic complex in Athens when I was there in 2006, and I loved getting to run on the Olympic track in Olympia in 2011.

200542_503270885743_1494_nDSCN5736

I was a  figure skater back in the day (I quit to go back to dancing and also because I had badly sprained my wrist on a jump and was a little too nervous after that– but I hurt my ankles multiple times dancing and that never bothered me… hmmm…), so I really enjoy watching that. When I was younger, that was all I watched in the winter Olympics, but as I grew, so did the list of sports that I enjoyed watching.

Today I’ll pretty much watch anything except for Hockey (Even though I grew up in MN, I just can’t get into it. I know- shameful.) and Curling (I don’t get it even though I’ve read numerous articles about it, and also it just seems SO boring).

I love the idea of worldwide competition, and I love getting to see so many sports in such a short amount of time. I really hope that the situation in Russia stays safe, and the terrorist threats don’t come to pass- yikes! So here’s to a happy two weeks as we enjoy watching our countries join together and compete!

Sidenote: Think about the hunger games when you watch the opening ceremonies. Don’t they seem a little similar (minus the kids murdering each other of course!)??

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s your favorite Olympic memory or sport to watch? Do you understand or like curling?

