Tags

,

After deseeding the pomegranate this weekend, I had to decide how to use the seeds. Since I’m always up for oatmeal, that’s what I settled on as I drove home from work on Monday. Then I got to thinking that just pomegranates on oatmeal might be a little too boring for me, and potentially needed a little more flavor. As I boiled the water I opened my freezer and immediately noticed a bag of frozen blueberries that practically screamed my name.

The blueberries are still a little frozen w/some ice on them, so that’s why the look funny. By the time I ate the oatmeal they were nice, unfrozen, and plump! As I looked down at my oatmeal, I decided that it could use a little coconut on top!

Red, White, and Blue oatmeal to celebrate President’s Day. No, I didn’t plan that out, and didn’t think about it until after I started eating it. The coconut added an extra bit of sweetness to the fruit, and the mix was perfect! The pairing of blueberries and pomegranates was exceptional, and one that I will definitely replicate in the future. Healthy AND delicious! The perfect mix:)

Now it’s your turn to share! Do you ever put pomegranate seeds or coconut on your oatmeal? What’s your favorite healthy and delicious treat?