Tags

, ,

This past Friday I hit the gym to get in a good cardio work out before the weekend started. After my workout, I noticed my brother was there for a weight lifting session. In college I used to lift on a regular basis, but it’s been at least half a decade since I last lifted a weight (yikes!). Since I started training for this half marathon, I’ve decided that I really need to get back into weight training as well, and Friday seemed to be the perfect opportunity. I asked my brother if I could follow him around and have him help me out, and he agreed (such a nice brother!). We mostly focused on legs, with a few curls and other arm exercises thrown in on the side.

source

I definitely didn’t look like the girl in the above photo. With a mixture of laughter and dramatic wails that I was “dying” and why am I “so weak when I work out so many days a week”, my brother was patient and kept me motivated throughout the other that we lifted. I felt alright on Friday night, but when I woke up on Saturday morning I ached like I had the flu. I shuffled very slowly around the apartment for the day, and spent most of it on the couch. OUCH! At this point, I regret giving up lifting so many years ago. And quite honestly, I have no idea why I did.

I’m planning to start out slowly, with maybe 4-5 leg exercises and 4-5 arm exercises. That’s where you come into the picture. What are your favorite weight exercises to do? I sure could use your help!

Now it’s your turn to share! Do you ever work out with a family member? Do you lift on a regular basis, or do you tend to avoid that part of the gym? What basic exercises would you recommend that I do?