Tags

,

Last Sunday at runchat, they featured questions submitted previously by participants, and they chose mine! I asked people to choose a favorite book or movie about running, and the participants had a lot of great responses. Of course the two favorites were “Born To Run” and “Spirit of the Marathon”, and I wasn’t surprised by that at all. Someone in the chat mentioned that he wished that someone would compile a list of all the suggestions people had, and since it was my question, I said I would do it. Below are the suggestions given by the participants of Runchat (copied from twitter).

Books and Movies about Running

Books About Running:

  • Born to Run
  • Hal Higdons Marathon Book
  • Anatomy For Runners
  • Natural Running
  • What Do I Talk About When I talk About Running (Haruki Murakami)
  • The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner (Alan Sillitoe)
  • Hanson’s Marathon Method
  • The Hobbit (participant said “Watching Bilbo go from a fearful and afraid guy into a brave man really, really inspires me)
  • Me Only Faster (Greg McMillan)
  • Running With The Kenyans (Adharanand Finn)
  • Flanagan’s Run
  • Onward! The Absolute, No B.S., Raw, Ridiculous Soul-Stirring Truth About Training For Your First Marathon (Brook Kreder)
  • Running For Women (Kara Goucher)
  • Run Gently Out There (John Morelock)
  • Never Wipe Your Ass With a Squirrel (Jason Robillard)
  • 4:09:43 (Hal Higdon)
  • Running For My Life (Lopez Lomong)
  • My Life On The Run (Bart Yasso)
  • Chi Running
  • One More Step- the 638 best quotes for the runner (Randy Thurman)
  • Jogger on Riverside Drive (poem)
  • To An Athlete Dying Young (poem)
  • Spartan Up!
  • The Long Run (about firefighter Matt Long)
  • Mind Gym
  • Running & Being (Dr. George Sheehan)
  • Running On Empty (Marshall Ulrich)
  • Once A Runner (John Parker)
  • Marathon Man (Bill Rodgers & Matthew Shepatin)
  • Running Like a Girl: notes on learning to run (Alexandra Heminsley)
  • The Perfect Mile (Neal Bascomb)

Movies About Running:

  • Spirit of the Marathon
  • The Marathon (a movie about a boy with autism who ran a marathon)
  • Forrest Gump
  • Chariots of Fire
  • Without Limits
  • Running the Sahara
  • Run For Your Life
  • Unbreakable (the Western States 100 documentary)
  • Prefontaine

I’ve read and watched a few of these, so I can’t vouch for some of these things on the list. All I know is that I have a long list of books to read now the rest of the summer!

Now it’s your turn to share! What’re your thoughts on any of these books or movies? Anything else you want to add to the list?

Looking for more ways to connect?

 

