Tags

,

Happy Thursday and Happy May Day! I remember making may day baskets for a few of my friends (who lived close by/were neighbors) when I was really little, and really loved hearing my doorbell ring that day too! I remember that once I caught one of my friends (who was a boy), and thinking that it was really great that I was able to catch him! What a funny little tradition, right? Did any of you make baskets for candy for any of your friends growing up? Good memories 🙂 Here’s what I’m thankful for today.

I’m thankful for the flowering trees. Oh man the trees are absolutely beautiful right now. Last Sunday I took a walk and spent some time just looking at the trees and smelling the flowers. It was pretty enjoyable… the allergies that result, not so much.

I’m thankful for my bike trainer. I’ve come to realize that when I have frustrating or difficult phone calls to make, biking while making them helps keep anxiety very low and gets the frustration out of me pretty quickly! This weekend I ended up biking 29 miles through a very difficult phone call. Mental and physical health combined 🙂

I’m thankful for dandelions. Ok- I know they’re a weed and they can certainly be frustrating to deal with in the yard. However, they’re good reminders of the carefree fun I had in childhood (I loved to carry them around, make chains with them, or pop their “heads” off), but they’re also pretty when you look out over a field of them. So, instead of being frustrated about the weed, I’m choosing to enjoy the beauty and memories right now… and it’s working pretty well 🙂 Anyone want to come over and make dandelion wreaths with me? 🙂

I’m thankful for my tennis ball. The last two weeks I’ve had some really tight and sore spots in my shoulders and upper back, and digging the tennis ball into the knots has been really helpful for breaking them up. Such a simple trick!

I’m thankful for allergy medicines. It seems like every spring there are a few days that almost bring me to my knees due to allergies. I’m so thankful for medicine in helping to deal with them!

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for today? Any good memories of May Day growing up?

