Tags

, ,

So often I forgot to stop and really think about what I’m thankful for beyond just “running”. So, as with the weeks surround my last few half marathons (edition 1 and edition 2), I’m here with my 3rd installment of the half marathon edition of Thankful Thursday!

I’m thankful that I had a great fifth half marathon! You can read all about the challenges and joys it it here. I had a really great training cycle, so I felt a little more confidence going into this race than in my last races (although I was a bit nervous about the hills!).

I’m thankful that I ended up with someone to run with! I went to the race by myself, but once the race started, I ended up running the whole thing with someone else in my pace group (Melissa!). I know that I wouldn’t have had nearly as fun of a race if I hadn’t had her running by my side. We both participate in #runchat and read some of the same blogs, so we instantly had some things to talk about.

I’m thankful for nearly perfect weather on race morning. The race started in the upper 40s with the sun rising, and ended in the low 60s and sunshine. There was a slight breeze, and it was pretty fantastic. The only thing I would’ve liked is a little less humidity (it was in the 60’s%), but overall it was really an absolutely beautiful day!

I’m thankful that, even with POTS, I can still run. I really never thought that exercising would be much of a possibility for me once I was diagnosed with POTS. Even though my first run was really difficult, I’m glad that I pushed through so I can run today. It’s hard to imagine my life without running right now…

I’m thankful for race fuel/drink. My salt packet/water/powerade/margarita shot blok combo didn’t fail me this past weekend, and fueled me well through 13.1 miles. I’m thankful that I’ve found a combination that works well for my stomach and is able to give my body what it needs.

I’m thankful that I wasn’t really sore afterwards. Of course I had some tightness and soreness, and that’s to be expected. Last May I had pain for a few weeks (that turned out to be tendinitis), and my half in november of 2012 left my walking down the stairs backwards for a few hours the next morning because I couldn’t bend my knees appropriately. I’m thankful that I was able to move normally without much pain after this race!

I’m thankful for running. Pure and simple. I love it.

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for today? What is one thing that running has given you? 

Looking for more ways to connect?

