Tags

, , , , , ,

Caution taper runner

Well, here we are, almost at the end of this training cycle. The next training recap I post will be after my half marathon, and I can’t believe how quickly these last 3 months have gone! Training for this half marathon definitely helped me deal with all the nasty weather this winter, so I’m pretty thankful for the training. Here’s what my week looked like:

  • Friday (3/28): 3.5 mile run
  • Saturday: 10.75 mile bike
  • Sunday: 1 hour pilates, 2.35 mile walk
  • Monday: 3.9 mile walk
  • Tuesday: .6 mile walk, 35 minutes pilates
  • Wednesday: 14.75 mile bike, 1.75 mile walk
  • Thursday: 30 minutes pilates, 30 minutes strength training
  • Friday: REST

I still had a busy week of workouts, but I decreased the duration and intensity as taper started. Taper has bothered me a bit this time– more than other times. I’ve found myself getting pretty antsy, which is why I walked more this week. I tried to force myself to walk pretty slowly, but the antsy-ness combined with beautiful sunny days led to walks being a necessity πŸ™‚

Now it’s your turn to share! Do you go on walks when the weather is nice? How do you handle the taper- crazies?Β 

