Tags

HAPPY 2014! It’s fitting that my first post of 2014 is one on thankfulness, since my practice of gratitude made such a big difference in 2013, and it’s one I plan on continuing throughout the upcoming year. Here’s what I’m thankful for right now:

I’m thankful for a fun NYE with a “long time” friend! I met my friend back in 2005 when we worked at camp together (we spent weeks together scrubbing bathrooms, washing windows, and vacuuming). We’ve kept in touch since then, and we’ve seen each other a few times along the way. I was able to spend NYE with her, and we had such a relaxing and fun evening.

I’m thankful for safety. As I was driving home yesterday, I hit pretty lousy weather. I ended up passing 11 or 12 cars that were banged up or in ditches, and a huge semi that was twisted sideways on the road. It was pretty nerve-wracking to say the least, and I was really tense for 4 hours through the sleet and snow.

I’m thankful the semi saw me at the last second and didn’t run me over! As I was driving to my friend’s house (also in bad weather), a semi came barreling down the road at over the speed limit (everyone else was going under due to bad weather conditions). He tried to move into my lane, and at the last second saw me. I ended up sliding a bit off the road, but if that’s the worst I got then I’ll take it. Stupid semis.

I’m so thankful for all the good relationships I have. I think I’ve taken so many of the relationships around me for granted over the past decade. These last few months have made me absolutely thankful for all the amazing people I have around me.

I’m thankful for warm cozy fires. Perfect for cold, stormy, winter nights, right?

What’re you thankful for right now? How did you ring in the New Year? 

