Tags

,

This year I’ve fallen in love with the Gingerbread Lattes from Starbucks. However, I don’t choose to spend the money every day to get one because that’d be expensive. I almost never get the lattes, and usually get black coffee with 1-2 pumps of whatever flavored syrup I want (a hint to make drinks MUCH cheaper!). Even so, I don’t want to do that every day either. So, that left me to try and create something that tastes similar. Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients

  • Coffee grounds
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp all spice
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 heaping tsp molasses
  • sugar (optional)
  • milk or cream (optional)

I put all the spices in with the coffee grounds and brewed the coffee as I usually do. Once it was reading, I put the molasses in my cup and poured the coffee into it. I mixed and threw in some sugar. If you’d like it a bit creamier, you can add some milk or cream.

Of course you can play around with the levels of the spices, depending on what you like! While making coffee isn’t the exact same as a delicious drink from Starbucks in that happy little red cup, this was a pretty great substitute!

Looking for other recipes? Check out my recipe page here.

What’s your favorite drink from Starbucks (or another coffee shop)? Do you ever try to recreate your favorite drinks at home?

