Tags

, , ,

One of my favorite Thanksgiving holiday traditions is the Friday following Thanksgiving: for as long as I can remember my mom has made these delicious hand and swiss sandwiches. These don’t taste like a normal ham and cheese sandwich- they’re special and DELICIOUS. And best yet- they can easily be made lactose free! Here’s what you need:

Ingredients:

  • Bun
  • 1-2 large pieces of ham
  • 1 piece of swiss cheese (I use kraft brand since it has 0g of lactose)
  • 1.5 tsp butter (I use Earth Balance)
  • .5-.75 tsp mustard
  • 1-2 shakes of poppy seed
  • 1/2 tsp minced onion

photo

Put butter, mustard, onion, and poppy seed in a bowl and microwave for 20 seconds on half power. Stir together. Assemble sandwich (butter mix on both sides of the bun with ham and cheese in the middle).

photo

Heat oven at 350 degrees and put the sandwich in until the cheese starts to melt.

These are so simple to make and are absolutely delicious! When I first became lactose intolerant I was SO sad to miss out on these sandwiches. Now that Kraft makes 0g lactose Swiss cheese and I’ve found Earth Balance, I can once again enjoy these delicious sandwiches and maintain my holiday tradition!

Do you have a favorite sandwich that has become a tradition for you?

© 2013, Journey To Wellness, Caroline

