Tags

, ,

Eggplant wasn’t something that I grew up eating… at all. In fact, the first time I really remember trying eggplant was when I was 14 and in Athens, Greece. I felt pretty “eh” about it, but was far more moved with my views of the Plaka and the Acropolis.

However, back in the summer of 2012 my parents started cooking it when I was around, and I really fell in love with it. This fall I’ve finally moved from eating it to cooking it, and I couldn’t be happier. Eggplant is a great addition to multiple meals, and it’s packed with all sorts of nutrients (a great source of fiber, magnesium, and antioxidants among other things!). Here’s the recipe I use:

Ingredients

  • 1 eggplant (small to medium sized)
  • 2.5 cups of bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs (beaten)
  • 2-3 tablespoons creole seasoning (optional)
  • olive oil

Here’s what you’ll do:

Wash the outside of the eggplant and slice into thin pieces. Even some of the pieces below were too thick, and I went back and cut them in half again.

photo 1

Put about two tablespoons of olive oil in a frying pan and heat on medium. While this is going on, crack two eggs in a bowl and beat well. In a second bowl, place 2.5 cups of bread crumbs and, for a spicy quick, creole seasoning. I like things spicy, so to mix it up sometimes I throw in some seasoning into the bread crumbs. You can also add in sea salt, garlic seasoning, turmeric, cayenne pepper, or other seasonings to the bread crumbs. Be creative! Combine well.

photo 2

Take each piece of egg plant and dip both sides in the egg, and then both sides in the bread crumb mixture. Place in skillet.

Cook each side of the eggplant for 2-3 minutes, or until the breadcrumbs are a golden brown. Before you flip, put a little olive oil over the tops of the egg plant, and then flip.

photo 3

Once you’ve cooked both sides, you’re done! Cool and enjoy!

If you’re looking for other delicious recipes, check out my recipe page.

Now it’s your turn to share! Do you like any unique vegetables or fruits? 

© 2013, Journey to Wellness, Caroline

