Tags

, , , , , , ,

2 years ago today I sat down at my computer and wrote my first post on this blog! I didn’t know what I really wanted for this blog, but I had just started running and knew that I wanted a place to track my growth. Through these 2 years, I’ve learned so much about fitness and exercise, and I’ve had so many extra surprises as well! So, I thought I would summarize a few of those lessons and surprises I’ve had over these last 2 years:

  • Comparison can ruin progress! It’s so easy to compare yourself to other bloggers, and it’s easy to feel really down when we do so. Blogging has taught me to learn from others but not compare myself to others. My body has different needs than other bodies do, and my progress will be different. Focusing on myself allows me to use the energy I have to grow and learn instead of beating myself up.
  • Never Say Never. When I started this blog I hadn’t been on a bike in nearly 10 years, and I regularly made the statement that I had no intention of every biking again. I had no desire. BUT… one day I won a free entry into a triathlon and had to get back on the bike again. I grew to love biking, and find great joy in my weekly rides.
  • Cross Train for a Balanced Body. Doing the same thing over and over and over isn’t so healthy for us, and switching it up provides a full body workout each week! For example, only running and biking shortens certain connections, so doing pilates helps to lengthen and balance me out. Seeking exercises to keep me balanced has been important!
  • Be Open To The Unexpected. When this past summer started, I had no intention of doing any sort of pilates training. Then one day, my mom received an email about a pilates barre instructor certification, and I instantly knew that I needed to do it! I had a fantastic time at the training, and just recently started teaching pilates two mornings a week.
  • That voice in our head is a liar. I originally posted about this the day before my first half marathon. We each have this little voice in our head that tells us that we can’t do things. We get to decide what we do with that voice of doubt. My journey in exercise has been about squashing that voice over and over and over again.
  • The post race blues are a very real thing. Before I ran my first half marathon I sort of thought that people were making it up. NOPE! It’s definitely a real thing, and I wrote an entire post about surviving the post race blues here.
  • If you need motivation, go online! If I have a workout planned that I need to get in but I don’t really want to do it, all I have to do is head to twitter and I’ll quickly get a number of people encouraging me and pumping me up to exercise! Sometimes that’s just what is needed.
  • Being open doesn’t mean sharing every little detail. My job as a counselor means that the amount of details about my life has to be limited on here. That’s why pictures of my family and close friends aren’t included, nor are my places of work. Using wisdom in what we post is critical for each of us, as what we post could impact jobs or other goals in the future.

But mostly, today, i want to say thank you to all of you who read here. My hope is to present a rounded view of wellness, not specifically just physical health. I hope that you’re able to gain something from my mental health posts as well. The mind and body are deeply connected, and part of my goal in blogging is to convey this. Thank you to all who keep reading, commenting, and sending tweets my way! You help make writing fun for me!

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s one lesson you’ve learned from blogging?

