Tags

,

Our thoughts have a CRAZY amount of control over our emotions and our behaviors (I wrote all about the connection between the three things in a post here). In so many ways (physically, relationally, mentally, behaviorally), we believe that we can’t do something, so we don’t. Even if we try, we don’t truly throw ourselves into it, simply because we believe that we are, in some way, limited. I was reading a recent Runner’s World magazine (i can’t remember what month!), and I stumbled upon the following quote that I wanted to share with all of you:

“The human body is capable of amazing physical deeds. If we could just free ourselves from our perceived limitations and tap into our internal fire, the possibilities are endless.” – Dean Karnazes (author of Run! 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss)

While this quote specifically discusses the physical, like I mentioned above, I think it can be true of the behavioral, relational, and mental/emotional as well. This is something that I end up hitting with most clients, and it’s always of interest to me to see what exactly it is that makes them give up their perceived limitations and push forward. That moment where we release our grasp on those perceptions is the moment we gain the freedom to grow, attain new dreams, and to push harder than we have before.

My challenge to you: spend a bit of time this next week looking at what your perceived limitations in life are. What might happen if you let go of those perceived limitations?

Now it’s your turn to share! What are some of the perceived limitations that you have? Running was definitely one of mine, and I wrote an entire post about getting over that limitation here!

