Tags

, ,

Gosh, it’s been quite the week. It hasn’t been the easiest of all weeks for me (lots of things going on!), but there have been lots of good moments along the way, and I’m choosing to focus on these things today. That’s the thing with gratitude; things don’t need to be going really well for us to still find things we’re thankful about in our life (remember: life isn’t all or nothing!). That being said, here are a few of the things I’ve been thankful for this week:

I’m thankful for my water bottle. Now that summer finally (FINALLY!) has arrived, I’ve had to increase the amount of water I drink each day (hey thanks, POTS, for that!). Water bottles make it so easy and convenient to stay hydrated on the go, and I’m so happy that they were invented! 

I’m thankful that summer has arrived. We’ve finally hit a few days in the 80’s, and I’ve been able to go to the pool once and pull out my tank tops. REJOICE! It’s been so nice after almost a month of rain every day to be able to just enjoy being outside. 

I’m thankful for evening summer walks. There’s something about going on a walk in the summertime that is just wonderful. I went on an almost hour-long walk a few nights ago as the sun was setting, and the whole time I could only thing “this is perfect”. I try to fully enjoy these moments and live in that present moment (along my 13 challenges in 2013 guidelines).

I’m thankful for chips. While they definitely aren’t the most healthy food out there, they are DELICIOUS! Again, because of my POTS, I am supposed to be putting extra salt on all my meals. You add training into that, and I pretty much constantly crave salt. Chips are such an easy and convenient way to eat salt, so they are one of my go to snacks! YUM!

I’m thankful for Arrested Development. This has been my go to funny show since the end of May, and I’m slowly working my way through the first 3 seasons, which I haven’t watched since either 2006 or 2007. I can’t wait to sit down and watch the new season:) 

I’m thankful for my backyard. The trees and all the flowers I planted have provided a very calm space for all the crazy going on around me, and I’ve utilized my lounge chair back there for a number of hours every day as I work (I’m typing from there right now!). I’m so thankful I have a beautiful view to enjoy. 

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you thankful for today? What do you do to create a calm environment when there’s a lot going on around you?

