Tags

Oh, there’s so much to be thankful for right now. I had some crazy travel experiences this past weekend, which included landing on the runway in the middle of a blizzard (IN APRIL- WHAT??), a drive through another snowstorm for two presentations, and getting on a plane that had the window frame taped on (scary!). I’m thankful to be alive. But beyond that, here’s what I’m thankful for right now:

I’m thankful that my brother encouraged me to keep running. Yesterday I posted the story of my first run, and it really didn’t go well. But my brother talked sense into me, and encouraged me to keep running despite a pretty bad first run. I’m thankful for his encouragement and I’m thankful that I didn’t stop running after one bad run.

I’m thankful that I actually made it to my presentation. My flight was about four and a half hours delayed, and I thought I wasn’t going to make it out on Thursday night, which would mean I would’ve missed my presentation on Friday. I’m so glad that we were able to fly, despite the fact that the amount of time I sat on the plane waiting was really frustrating.

I’m thankful that my plane didn’t slide off the runway. Like I said, we landed in the middle of a blizzard, and when we landed, the plane slid sideways a bit. It was a little scary, but I guess we had a good pilot, because he immediately got control and we moved in the appropriate direction. I’m thankful that things didn’t get too crazy.

I’m thankful for the beautiful flowering trees. The flowers came out on the trees about three and a half weeks later than last year; they just came out last week! It’s been so nice to see them on my drive back and forth to work, along with any walks I take in the afternoon. How can you not smile when you look at the little flowers coming out in the spring?

I’m thankful that I got over my fear of public speaking. I speak publicly as a career right now, but I certainly was not always comfortable with that. In fact, in college my public speaking professor told me “you have so many good things to say but no one can understand you because your voice is shaking too much”. My junior year I broke out in hives while giving a speech in social psychology. I’m thankful that I was able to get over this intense fear because, as it turns out, I love speaking in public!

I’m thankful for podcasts. I listen to podcasts every sunday as I do my meal prep and clean, as well as when I work out. I love having a way to learn all sorts of things at my fingertips, and I can be productive and learn at the same time! Plus, it makes the time fly by as I’m on the stationary bike at the gym.

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for today? Have you ever been able to overcome a fear? 

