Tags

After being pelted from 5 pm-5 am with a snow storm that gave us 7 or 8 inches of snow, I was not so thrilled to be driving to work on Wednesday. It was really really dangerous on the roads, and it took me 40 instead of 20 minutes to get to work. I was pretty annoyed that the drive was so scary. I’m not thankful for that drive at all, but there are some things surrounding that that I am thankful for right now:

I’m thankful that I didn’t get in a car accident. On top of the snow, we had ice, and there were cars in the ditch left and right. I have all wheel drive, so at least I didn’t go way off, but I did slide off the road a bit. I’m so thankful that the drive, while long in stressful, ended in me getting safely and unscathed to my work parking lot.

I’m thankful for a long lunch out with co-workers. Our boss had a meeting that was scheduled into part of our staff meeting, so we had a long lunch. The roads had cleared up a bit, so a few co-workers and I headed to Cracker Barrel for lunch! On a stressful day, there’s nothing like comfort food eaten in front of a roaring fire! It was exactly what I needed!

I’m thankful that it’s March. Honestly, the winter wasn’t too bad overall this year. I worked hard at enjoying each day as it was, and that helped contribute to winter not being too bad. That being said, though, I’m glad it’s march because it means the start of spring, and hopefully very few days left where it’s in the 20s!

I’m thankful for cupcakes. Just looking at them brings a smile to my face! They’re so cute on top of being absolutely delicious! I’m also thankful I decided that baking them was something I wanted to do. I’ve made these cupcakes three times since Christmas!

I’m thankful for meal prep on Sundays. I stumbled on this idea two years ago, and it’s seriously been one of the greatest things in my recent life. I spend an hour or two on Sunday afternoons prepping my food for the week, and then my lunches and dinners are either completely or mostly made for the week. When I get home from working out, all I have to do is reheat and eat! It’s amazing!! Yay for convenience and easy, healthy food!

I’m thankful for the “thanks” I get from my clients. Counselors don’t get into the field of counseling for the “thanks” from people. I don’t expect it (I do expect frustration and anger to be directed at me from them though!)but I feel so thankful when my clients express the gratitude. It means more than they will ever know.

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for this Thursday? 

