Tags

, ,

How fitting that Valentine’s Day falls on my weekly holiday of thankfulness! After all, isn’t Valentine’s Day supposed to be about expressing our love (and thanks for the love and support we receive) from all sorts of people in our lives? In that vain, today’s post is all about my gratitude towards all sorts of people in my life who I very much care about.

I’m thankful for my parents. Always there for me, I am in constant appreciation of them! I appreciate how excited my dad was to work with me once I graduated from graduate school. I appreciate how much time my mom devotes to talking about pilates, cooking, and pretty much every frustration in my life. I appreciate how encouraging they are of me, and how much they’ve jumped on board with me running and training for things! (Case in point- my dad is doing a race with me this summer!)

I’m thankful for my older baby brother. He’s the one who is in the military, and not only do I appreciate that he has a desire to protect the people in his country, but I appreciate his wisdom and his sense of humor! I also appreciate that he’s gotten me a race entry to a half marathon the last two years! I feel like he gets to be a part of my training and racing even though we live hours and hours apart!

I’m thankful for my younger baby brother. Because he lives close to me, we get to see each other frequently which I really love! I also appreciate that he comes to races to cheer me on (and take pictures) and is patient enough to let me tag along and lift with him. He’s also a pretty great road trip buddy (since we live many many hours away from our parents as well)!

I’m thankful for one very special friend. We’ve been friends for 8 years (February 12th), and I’m so thankful that this person has been in my life all those years. Always read to listen to my ramblings, joys, and tears, this person has been there through all sorts of crazy life experiences, both good and bad. This person is kind, compassionate, giving, and one of my biggest supporters, and I’m so thankful for the last 8 years.

I’m thankful for my grad school buddies. This includes my walking buddy and my other friend, “L”. Because they went through a counseling program with me, they are great people to process some of the techniques and exercises I use, and are there with listening ears when I need them! They are so much fun, and I look forward to each and every time we hang out together! I also appreciate our  “dinner or dessert and a movie” nights each Sunday!

I’m thankful for my co-workers! Even though I don’t work directly with them (obviously since I’m in an office by myself with my clients), we get a few minutes in between sessions to chat, and we try to all eat lunch together once a week. They provide lots of fun and laughter in my days. Also, one of the important prevention factors of burnout with counselors is a good work support system, and I’ve definitely got that!

I’m thankful for each one of my other friendships! I feel bad clumping everyone together, but let’s be honest; this list would be very very long if I listed each one out by name. I’m so thankful for each person whom I consider a friend.

And most importantly-

I’m thankful for God’s love. So very, very thankful for the unconditional love he gives to us.

Now it’s your turn to share! Tell me who you are thankful for this Valentine’s Day! 

 

