Tags

, , , , ,

After taking a few months off after my Monumental Half Marathon, I’m finally heading back into training! I’m so excited to announce that I will be training for:

running indy 2013Indianapolis Mini Marathon!

This is the first race I’ve ever run for the 2nd year in a row, so it’s exciting to know a bit of what I’m getting into with this race. Being the country’s largest half marathon, the excitement and crowds are absolutely amazing, and I’m excited to run in this environment again since I had so much fun running it my first time.

I’m trying to go into this 3rd half marathon training cycle smarter than I have the last two times. My body clearly can’t handle running more than twice a week (which very much annoys me), so I plan to train primarily through cross training (walking, biking, swimming, and pilates), and running 1-2 times a week. I will be training using the Galloway Method once again, and am doing physical therapy exercises most days of the week to try to deal with my IT band pain. I want to be smart and not try to push through injuries and pain. To be honest, my last two half marathon training cycles have been a bit rough (shin splints the first time, IT band pain the second time), and I really would like this cycle to go well. Either way, though, I know it’ll be fun!

I actually signed up for this race right after Thanksgiving, and “received the race” as a Christmas present from my brother (he also gave me the race last year!). He says it’s fun because it’s like he gets to be a part of me racing, and it’s fun for me to know how supportive he is! So, it’s an extra fun race for me to run!

Alright, off to train and envision the finish line.

IMG_2895At the finish line of the Indy Mini in 2012!

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s your favorite part of training for a race? 

