Tags

, ,

Happy Thankful Thursday, a time to focus on gratitude and the positives in our life. Over the last year I’ve felt that this has been an important component of my mental health (and overall health), and that’s part of why I chose to make this one of my 13 challenges for 2013. I’m excited for 2013! Here’s what I’m feeling thankful for today.

I’m thankful for the sunset last night. The sunset was beautiful, pink, and orange. Because one of my challenges for 2013 is to be present, I chose to put my work down and walk out on my porch (even though it was in the low 30s!) to watch the sunset. It was really enjoyable, and I could tell that I felt more positive (even though my mood was great before that). I’m thankful for the sunset and the chance to practice enjoying the moment.

I’m thankful for root beer float cupcakes. So I just made a batch of these cupcakes right before New Years, but this past weekend I just HAD to whip up another batch. These are so delicious and taste exactly like root beer floats. I’m so thankful I found the recipe and get to enjoy the yumminess regularly.

I’m thankful for the flexibility that my job provides. I know I’ve said it before, but my job is awesome. I love it, and I love how flexible it can be.

I’m thankful for my friends. I had a great time with my family at Christmas, but it’s also been nice to get back into my normal routine and see my friends again.

I’m thankful that it’s staying light longer! Almost every night I exclaim “I can’t believe it’s 6 o’clock and not pitch dark out yet!” This is so exciting to me, and means that I have time to work out after work before it gets dark. Plus, my eyes get to see sunshine, which definitely helps throughout the winter!

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for today? What was one “little moment” that you enjoyed this week? 

