Tags

, ,

Happy 2013! I think it’s all together fitting that I start the year off with a thankful post. I’m not setting resolutions per-se, but I definitely plan to continuing working on focusing on the positives in life and not repeating the negatives. These thankful thursday posts help me to do this! So, as a way to kick off the year, here are a few of the things I’m thankful for right now.

I’m thankful for a great year of running. 2012 was a truly great year of running for me (here’s my 2012 running summary). I feel like I finally found a rhythm for myself as a runner. I learned a lot, got injured, healed, injured in a different way, and successfully ran 2 half marathons. 2012 was a great year in running!

I’m thankful for getting to spend Christmas with my family. I’ve become increasingly aware that holidays together are not a promise, especially with a sibling in the military. I tried to enjoy the moments we had together as a family. We baked Christmas cookies, lifted weights, went on runs, did Pilates, watched movies, ate great meals, played games in front of the fire, and laughed a lot. I had a great few weeks with my family, and I miss them already!

I’m thankful that one of my siblings lives close to me. I’ve been at my “current location” for eight years now, and two and a half years ago he followed me down here. We’re 10 hours away from our parents and about 16 from our other brother. It’s nice to have him here, and have a family member that lives close by! After saying goodbye to my other family members yesterday, it was nice to be able to drive home with him and not have to say goodbye to him!

I’m thankful for my mom. Yes, I’m thankful for each one of my family members. I’m listing my mom, however, because she’s listened to all sorts of rants and processing over the weeks that I was home. She’s patient, supportive, and gives great hugs. I’m thankful I have such a nice mom!

I’m thankful for safety in driving. Yes, I do put this one on my list rather often. However, I just drove almost 600 miles yesterday, and in the winter, there’s a lot that can go wrong. I’m thankful I had a great day for driving, and we stayed safe!

I’m thankful for baking! In the last 3 weeks I’ve made huge batches of 6 types of Christmas cookies, lots of batches of peanut brittle, 3 pies, and root beer float cupcakes. I’ve spent so much time in the kitchen, and I’ve loved it! I’ve also loved eating all those delicious treats:) YUMMM.

I’m thankful for a job that has breaks! I seriously feel so spoiled. I still get regular breaks (Christmas break! Spring break! Summer!), and I’m so appreciative of them. It allows me to spend time with family and friends, pursue hobbies and other interests, and also get to help develop another business that have been wonderful! I have a pretty great job situation.

I’m thankful for 2012. This past year was a good year. Yes, moments of it were difficult, of course. But overall, things went incredibly well for me. I feel like everything fell into place this year, and I truly feel blessed and thankful to have had a great 2012.

And here’s to a great 2013:)

Now it’s your turn to share! How did you spend New Years? What are you feeling thankful for this year? How will you attempt to be more positive from this point forward? 

