Tags

It’s been almost a full week since the shooting, and I do have to admit that it’s a little weird for me to sit down and make a list of things I’m thankful for right now. At first it felt a little wrong, but moments like this also increase our awareness of what we currently have. It causes us to stop and pause for a moment, and realize what we’re surrounded by. So, in that spirit, here are the things I’m thankful for right now:

I’m thankful that, while evil exists, good exists all around us. I’ve been so impressed by all the good that has surrounded this very bad situation. People who lay down their life to protect children, Jet Blue offering to fly letters from across the country so they could be buried with little Noah, people sending money to the city, and victim’s parents reaching out in statements of love and forgiveness. It truly amazes me. Yes, evil does exist. But there’s so much good in the world too, and I’m glad that it becomes part of the story.

I’m thankful for this promise: “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demon neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

I’m thankful for hopefully determining what is causing my current pain with running. After dealing with months of pain, I think that I may have figured out (with the help of a few others) what’s going on with my leg pain. I have a few new exercises to do, and I’m hoping this will help!

I’m thankful for night time walks in the snow during the Christmas season. Lately it’s snowed very lightly in the evenings, and this makes it absolutely perfect and picturesque to walk in, especially with the brightly colored Christmas lights on the trees. I treasure the moments that I’m out on those walks, knowing that I only get a few of them every year. It’s the little things in life, right?

I’m thankful for pilates. Pilates is one of my favorite things to do! I enjoy the great stretching and lengthening I get from this, along with the strength in my core from this type of exercise!

I’m thankful for Christmas cookies! YUM!! I love making them as it brings back all sorts of wonderful memories from growing up! Yesterday I made cookies using a recipe that my great grandma used to bake cookies to send my grandpa in Europe during WWII. 

Now it’s your turn to share! In this difficult week for our country, what are you thankful for? 

