Tags

, , , , ,

While we’ve made it out of the Thanksgiving holiday, it doesn’t mean that it’s time to stop being thankful! I believe that a regular practice of gratitude is an important component of healthy living, so I’m still committed to regularly engaging in this practice. How about you? Here are a few of the things I’m thankful for right now:

I’m thankful for safety in traveling. I drove almost 1,200 miles in a six day period- that’s a lot of hours where things could go wrong. I’m so thankful that all 3 days were beautiful for driving, and things went really smoothly. I’m thankful that we stayed safe, and that other drivers around us stayed safe as well!

I’m thankful that I was able to run well on Thanksgiving Day! I seriously considered not even going to the race on Thursday morning. I thought my IT bands would hurt badly as they have in previous runs, and I thought it wouldn’t be fun. Boy was I wrong! I had a great run and ended up with a great result! You can read about it here.

I’m thankful for the fun that I had with my family over Thanksgiving. It was so good to be at my parents’ home with my family, both immediate and extended. It was great to spend a few days with my cousin as well. There was lots of eating, laughter, fun, and memory sharing; a perfect mix for a holiday!

I’m thankful for my Christmas decorations that I put up right before I left for Thanksgiving break! I put up my decorations before I left for Thanksgiving, so when I arrived home all I had to do was plug in my lights and I could enjoy! I love these weeks when I can come home from work and my living room is filled with white lights and ornaments on the tree! It’s so festive! I’m also happy that I’m allowed to decorate my office! Since I spend more hours there than anywhere else each week, it’s nice to have lights and a little tree there!

I’m thankful for a parent who has taken the time to cook meals that meet my dietary needs. I didn’t become lactose intolerant until part way through my senior year of college, and I was the first one in my immediate family to be lactose intolerant. Because of this, my mom was used to using all types of dairy in her cooking. When I’d come home to visit, it was certainly different for her to change up various recipes. She’s done a really great job since that time of changing up recipes so that I can eat them too! I really appreciate the hard work she puts in to cook for me when I come to visit!

I’m thankful for music! Like I mentioned above, I had quite a long way to travel over Thanksgiving. My brother and I were together in the car for about 21 hours in total. He slept about 5 of them; I slept exactly 0 minutes of the drive. Music definitely helps the time go by quickly. Especially when you listen to Call me Maybe 6 or 7 times in the first 10 hours:) Plus now it’s the Christmas season which means I can blast Christmas music in the 10 minutes between my clients. Love it!

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for today? Have you decorated your house and/or office yet? Do you have a favorite road trip song? 

