Tags

,

Happy Thankful Thursday! I believe very strongly in the regular practice of gratitude, and try to engage regularly, not just on Thursdays. Sometimes it can be difficult in the midst of the craziness and events of the week to focus on the blessings in life, but it can be so beneficial if we can! There are definitely many other aspects to healthy living beyond exercising and eating well, and this is certainly one of them:) So, that being said, here are a few of the things that I’m thankful for right now!

I’m so thankful for my space heater! I’m being really cheap and stubborn right now and the heat in my place is set at 59 degrees. The last 2 days it has been exactly 59 degrees, and that is just cold to wake up to in the morning. Running my space heater helps to make my stubbornness more realistic:) I do love that heater…

I’m thankful for delicious, easy, and protein-packed meals like this cranberry quinoa dish and this veggie & bean quinoa salad! I’m so thankful that I’ve managed to find ways to quickly make meals that are healthy and convenient during the week!

I’m thankful that I’ve had the opportunity to run two fantastic half marathonsThe further I get out from my 2nd half marathon, the more perspective I get on both of the races, and the more I feel thankful for both of them. They were both great opportunities, and I am thankful I got to be challenged in this way.

I’m SO THANKFUL for all those men and women serving in our military. I’m so so thankful for their service and sacrifice, and the sacrifice of their family members’ too. I said everything I wanted to say about that here.

I’m thankful for the gorgeous sunset I drove home in last night. The sky was brightly colored for about 45 minutes last night (bright orange, pink, and purple), which meant that I got to drive the entire way home with the beautiful colors surrounding me. It was truly beautiful, and a great end to a work day. Moments like that are wonderful and help me focus on and live in the moment.

I’m thankful for people who are willing to share their personal stories. People are pretty inspiring, aren’t they? Last year Susan was diagnosed with lymphona, and I followed along through her fight. Susan is now cancer free and running a half marathon this spring with Team in Training. This week she is hosting an auction to raise money for a great cause that is also personal to her. Check it out here (and maybe bid on something too!).

Now it’s your turn to share! What are you feeling thankful for today? What things happen in your life that force you to live in the moment? 

