Tags

, , ,

This post is coming to you all a day late because I wanted to post my “Freedom Isn’t Free” post on Veteran’s Day. Well, I’m back to plain old “exercise recap” since I’m not currently in official training for anything. Because of my half marathon last Saturday, this week was all about cutting back and recovery. I planned on doing lots of walking, especially since the weather was supposed to be back up in the 60s the second half of the week. Here’s what the week looked like:

  • Sunday: REST
  • Monday: 1.75 mile walk
  • Tuesday: 3.11 mile walk + 15 mins yoga
  • Wednesday: 4.5 mile bike
  • Thursday: 1.25 mile run
  • Friday: 6.00 mile walk
  • Saturday:1.95 mile run + 2 hours lifting wood planks (strength training!)

Total Miles: 10.86 mile walk + 3.2 mile run + 4.5 mile bike= 18.56 miles + yoga + strength training + 12 minutes of planks

The two runs I did were slow and my IT bands still hurt. I also think I’ve shifted my form a bit to compensate because I’ve had some shin pain since the half marathon. I’m hoping it’s not the start of shin splints, but I think I’m going to take a bit of time off (or significantly reduce) of running to make sure I don’t develop them. I’m excited to get back into cross training a bit more, and I’m also happy to say that my planks have gone exceptionally well this month! It’s a little hard once a race is past to know how to move forward in exercising, and I’m still trying to figure out what that will look like over the Thanksgiving and Christmas seasons.

Now it’s your turn to share! Did you start (or restart) anything this week? What are you looking forward to this coming week? 

