Tags

, , ,

These past few weeks I’ve been comparing many of my thoughts and experiences to the end of April and beginning of May as I anxiously prepared for my first half marathon.

  • Then: I was coming off an injury: shin splints. I lost 7 weeks of running leading up to the race, and only did 1 long run in the 2 months leading up to the race.
  • Now: I’m feeling injured: IT band pain. My longest run was 8.5 miles a few weeks ago.
  • Then: I didn’t know if I would be able to run 13 miles since I had never run that distance before.
  • Now: I’m confident in my ability to run 13 miles since I’ve done it before, but I’m not that confident now because of my current injury.
  • Then: I was trying to figure out my race strategy for the heat and very high humidity (they even sent our warning emails to remind us to slow down and run smartly)
  • Now: I’m trying to figure out my race strategy for the cold. The weather just dropped to the 40s so I’m trying to figure out what I will be comfortable in for 13 miles.
  • Then: I didn’t feel that I had trained well. I didn’t feel prepared.
  • Now: I trained well- a good mix of running and cross training. I felt prepared- before the injury.
  • Then: I was fighting against the voice in my head that said I couldn’t do it.
  • Now: I am fighting against the voice in my head that says I can’t do this.
  • Then: I was excited to cross the finish line!
  • Now: I’m excited to cross the finish line!

Even though this isn’t my first half marathon, I feel almost as lost as before. I’m going in with a different set of circumstances- different weather, different training, and a different injury. The fact of the matter is that I won’t know how this will all go down until I start running and see how my IT band feels on November 3rd.

Things are completely different now than then, but there are still similarities. I’m still really excited, really nervous, and still doubt myself. I wanted it badly then, and I want it badly now.

I’m in the purple shirt about to run through the middle opening of the finish line!

I know that I can do it, and I just hope that my IT band can do it too. Either way, I’m getting really excited and anxious for Saturday, and I can’t wait to hit the starting line and run this race!

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s a “now and then” in your life right now? 

