Tags

, , , ,

A year ago I sat down and typed my first post on this blog: “Caroline is on the Run!” I was relatively new to the whole running thing, and I certainly had very little idea of what I was doing. Over the last year I’ve witnessed so many changes in myself: more confidence in physical abilities, longer endurance, definitely stronger muscles, and a passion I never knew I had for exercise. When I sat down to type that post a year ago, I had just completed a 4 mile run, my first 4 mile run, and my longest run to date! I had never run a race yet, and I don’t think I even had any real desire to complete a half marathon. I hadn’t been on a bike in over 10 years, and it had been about half a decade since I had last gone swimming as a form of exercise. I’ve accomplished so much over the last 12 months!

I ran my first race ever, a Homecoming 5k Race

I followed that up by a 5k Turkey Trot and Jingle Bell Jog too!
Then I got the crazy idea to sign up for a half marathon! I spent a few months training, and in May I finished my first half marathon: Indianapolis Mini Marathon 
At the end of May I found out that I won a giveaway for a free entry into a triathlon, and I began to train for my first triathlon! This was a complete surprise to me, as I hadn’t been on a bike for over a decade. I conquered my fears and got on the bike again (you can read about that adventure here and here). I also started to swim again regularly. In August I completed my first sprint triathlon& loved every minute of it!

This summer I also decided to sign up for my 2nd half marathon, and am currently training for that!  I’ve come a long way in the last year; I’ve pushed myself and conquered distances and fears that I never thought I could.
This year I also got to be a fitness model for a two day shoot, and that was a LOT of fun!  I also just became a Sweat Pink Ambassador, which is something that I would’ve never done a few years ago.
It’s really been a crazy last year of my life in terms of fitness, exercising, and racing, and I have to say that I can’t imagine not doing these things. This has been a crazy journey so far, and I can’t wait to see where it takes me from here and what this next year holds!
Thanks to all of you, my readers, for coming along on this journey with me! I appreciate your comments, feedback, suggestions, and encouragement along the way! The healthy living and fitness community really is fantastic at supporting and motivating one another, so please know that I really do appreciate it!
