Tags

, ,

As I was preparing for my first sprint triathlon, I scoured the internet checking over multiple different packing lists to create my own. Because the triathlon was many, many hours away from where I lived, I needed to make SURE I packed everything I needed for the race. Recently I’ve noticed a few people finding my blog through search terms like “what to pack for my first sprint triathlon”, so I thought I’d do a post on the topic! Here’s a typed up l packing list of things I brought to my tri:

Race Outfit

  • tri shorts
  • sports bra (or other top to swim in)
  • shirt
  • 2 pairs of socks
  • headband or hat
  • tennis shoes
  • cycle shoes (I don’t clip in so I didn’t need them)
  • goggles
  • swim cap (many races give one to you)
  • sunglasses
  • spi belt
  • helmet
  • cycling gloves (i don’t have them but many people use them!)
  • flip flops (to wear before/after race)

Transition Zone Items

  • Bike
  • 2 towels- one to wipe feet, one to set stuff on
  • 3 water bottles (1 for bike, 1-2 to clean off feet after swim)
  • shot blocks (or other fuel)
  • Garmin or phone for time/pace
  • bandaids in a small bag
  • sunblock

After Race Items

  • Water/juice for the car
  • Protein bar for the drive home
  • towel for the seat in the car
  • compression sleeves
  • dry shirt and shorts

Other Items

  • small pair of scissors (for sizing ankle band that race chip is on)
  • Pre-race breakfast
  • plastic bag to put towel and extra pair of socks in a Tzone in case it rains
  • Bike Pump
  • Extra bike tube (attached to bike incase you get a flat!)
  • Something (like a balloon) to mark your spot in the Tzone so you can easily find your bike after the swim.

I didn’t take a picture of how I set up my transition zone (next time I will!), but this picture will give you an idea of what the Tzone is like:

It’s chaotic and so full of energy! It’s fantastic (but a little overwhelming)!

I’m sorry. I couldn’t help it. I just had to put in this picture again of me about to cross the finish line:)

Now it’s your turn! What are some of your “must haves” for a race? What’s your go to food item after races? 

