Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m not sure if I should call this “week one” of training for my next half marathon or not, although I suppose it officially is because I just finished training for my triathlon last week. I kicked off this week of exercise with my triathlon, which definitely led me to feeling stiff and achy for the next few days. I also had three days of travel this week, which certainly didn’t help my stiffness or my ability to fit in workouts well. Here’s what the week looked like:

  • Sunday: Triathlon!! 0.5 mile swim, 12 mile bike, 3.1 mile run
  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: 2.58 mile walk
  • Wednesday: Rest/travel day
  • Thursday: 1 mile run, 3.83 mile walk (on sand dunes- it was tough!)
  • Friday: 2.1 mile walk
  • Saturday: 3.53 mile run

Total: 12 mile bike + 0.5 mile swim + 7.63 mile run + 8.51 mile walk = 28.64 miles total

Overall this week felt pretty good to me. I’m really hoping to avoid shin splints this time around, but I guess time will tell on that. My run yesterday felt really great. My breathing was good, I immediately fell into a rhythm, and I loved every step of it! Why can’t every run feel so great?

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s one exciting thing that happened for you this week? What’s one of your favorite “holiday weekend” snacks? 

