Wow- I only have one more half marathon training recap to go. In fact, this is the last one that I’ll post before my race, as my race will be over in a week. Can it really be race week already? eek! Nerves! Excitement!

Here’s what the past week looked like:

  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: 2.69 mile walk
  • Tuesday: 5.4 mile speed walk
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: 2 mile run
  • Friday: 2 mile elliptical
  • Saturday: 3 mile walk- hills the entire time!

Total Miles: 15.09 miles

Lesson Learned: I don’t really feel like there was a real lesson that I learned this week. I think my legs felt pretty sluggish all week, and that 2 miles on both the run and elliptical felt exhausting for my legs. Hmm. I guess the 10 miles on Saturday were tiring for them? Not sure…

Biggest Struggle: I’m not really sure how to taper before a half marathon, especially how to taper given the way I’ve been training the past month. I feel a little lost. I’m also finding I have a lot of questions, and wish I had someone close to me who races so I could ask. Questions include: what’s good to eat the few days leading up to a race (maybe it doesn’t matter), what should I eat the night before (i won’t be home to make dinner), what things do I need to make sure to pack, and what important things should I keep in mind.

Now it’s your turn to share: Do you have any advice for a first time half marathoner (advice on anything from food to clothing to packing to race day info would be appreciated!)? I’d love to hear anything you have to share:) 

