Tags

, , ,

This is the 16th week that I’ve done these recaps now? Woah! This week I’ve been quite happy with my training, and after my run on Saturday I feel confident in my ability to cross the finish line in 2 weeks. Here’s what the week looked like:

  • Sunday: travel home from New York. 2.29 mile walk.
  • Monday: 2.58 mile walk
  • Tuesday: 5.42 mile walk
  • Wednesday: had a run scheduled but ended up sitting in the hospital all night with a friend, so it ended up being a rest day.
  • Thursday: 2.5 mile run before work
  • Friday: 3.00 elliptical, 1 mile bike, .5 mile walk @ 8 incline
  • Saturday: 10 mile run/walk

Total Miles for the Week: 27.29 miles full of various cardio activities!

Lesson Learned: Doing run/walk is ok! It helped decrease the amount of pounding, and allowed me to cover a greater distance than if I was running alone. Also, running in compression sleeves has been really fantastic, and I haven’t experienced any shin pain while running! I should’ve tried compression sleeves much earlier in this training cycle.

Biggest Struggle: Despite having a really great experience going 10 miles, I’m still nervous about the actual race. I wish I had someone to go with me. I keep psyching myself out, and I definitely need to watch how I talk to myself about the race over the next two weeks. I keep going back to the following quote: “The voice inside your head that says you can’t do this is a liar.” I can do this… I know I can! I need to stop telling myself that I can’t.

Now it’s your turn to share: Do you ever talk yourself out of doing something that you know you can do? How do you choose to face your fears? Tell me one thing (big or small) that you accomplished this week! 

