Tags

, , , ,

This week was perhaps my lowest mileage to date, as I have hardly worked out. As I mentioned in last week’s recap, there are sometimes things in life that pop up that take all of our time and focus. The problem was that Monday I had an 11 hour drive, and by the time I got home I barely had enough time to eat dinner, unpack, and go to bed. Tuesday I worked 13 hours, and after work attended a memorial service, getting home after 9 pm (and then had to eat dinner). Wednesday and Thursday I was both exhausted, and needed to prepare for a lecture I was doing, as well as pack. Friday I flew all morning and afternoon, and Saturday I spoke all morning. So, it left very little time for any traditional workouts. While in a normal week I would’ve woken up early, the mixture of dealing with this death (which leaves you emotionally exhausted), the lack of sleep and days of traveling (which can be physically exhausted), and a cold that has left my unable to breathe through my nose, work outs just didn’t happen. I’m disappointed, but also realize that sometimes life is like that. This is ok. It is not the end of the world. It will not make or break me. 

This is what the week looked like:

  • Sunday: Easter. Rest.
  • Monday: 1 mile walk before a long day of travel
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: 2 mile run
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday: 5 hours of walking around New York City
  • Saturday: 6 or 7 hours of walking around New York City

Total mileage: I’m not sure, as I don’t know how many miles I walked on Friday and Saturday. I was moving quite a bit, but I can’t give a total number.

Lesson Learned: Sometimes life throws things at you that you can’t really control, and you need to roll with them. I decided that sleep and making healthy meals was more important then getting a few runs in. Some people might disagree with this, but I felt good about my decision.

Biggest Struggle: Feeling sick this week. I could hardly breathe on my run on Wednesday and had to take quick walking breaks every 5 minutes or so to get a good breath in…

Now it’s your turn to share: What’s your biggest accomplishment this week? Has life thrown anything unexpected at you this week? 

