Tags

I’m not a morning person. AT ALL. In college, my roommate would wake up before me so that she could do what she needed to in the bathroom and be out before I would wake up, because I was miserable to be around those first 15 minutes. I’ve gotten better (MUCH BETTER), and keeping a regular sleep schedule has definitely helped. Ok. The stage is set now.

Since my schedule has picked up this semester, it’s been increasingly difficult for me to fit in workouts in the evenings. If I don’t get out of work until 6 pm, I don’t end up starting my workout until 6:15-6:20, which means that I’m not showered and at home until 7:45. I make dinner and eat it, but then I don’t have too much more time to get anything done before I shut down for the evening. The schedule works, but not when I have things on my to do list that need to get done in the evenings. What’s a girl to do?

I always thought that those of you in the blog world who wake up at the crack of dawn to fit your workouts in before work were crazy. Who would give up an extra beautiful hour with their pillow?!

As I started looking at my schedule and “to do” lists, I realized that it might not be such a bad thing to get up early and squeeze in a workout before work. Here are a few benefits of working out in the morning that I’ve discovered:

  • It forces me to get to bed earlier in the evenings instead of wasting time on the computer
  • I’m much more awake when I finally get to work
  • I’m more focused and less antsy while I’m at work
  • One less thing I need to do after work!
  • I can ensure that I get my workout in for the day.
  • I get my body used to working out and pushing myself in the mornings, which is necessary for race day!

Lots of benefits. The fact of the matter is that I still really like my sleep, and would much rather get another 40 minutes of sleep then get up in the morning. However, there are a lot of benefits to working out in the morning, and I can’t deny that either. My goal is to work out in the mornings 1-2 days a week. We’ll see how long I stay excited about the morning workout, but I’ve really enjoyed this over the last 2 weeks!

Now it’s your turn to share! Would you rather work out in the morning, afternoon, or evening? Are you a morning person, or are you a little difficult to be around those first minutes after you wake up? 

