Tags

, , , ,

I have to be honest. I’ve been a little less then excited about this half marathon for the last 4 weeks. My shins still don’t feel fantastic, and I’m starting to doubt more and more as the weeks tick by.

Here’s the breakdown in my training for the week:

  • Sunday: 2:30 planks
  • Monday: 2:30 planks
  • Tuesday: 1 mile elliptical (felt sick before I started, and had to quit), 2:00 planks
  • Wednesday: 2.15 mile walk
  • Thursday: 1.5 mile walk
  • Friday: 2.5 mile elliptical, 3:00 planks, 1.25 hr weight lifting
  • Saturday: Strengthen & Stretch, 2:30 planks

Total Miles: 7.15 miles, 12:30 planks

Lesson Learned: I really need to get back into weight lifting again. I lifted on Friday afternoon and am still in pain as I type this. Poor decisions. I don’t think I’ve lifted in almost 5 years (I’m a little embarrassed to admit that), so I obviously feel less then stellar right now. Clearly I need to start weight lifting again.

Biggest Struggle: Not being excited about the half marathon, and feeling down about my shin pain still. If it comes down to it, I can walk 13 miles, but I’m really hoping it won’t come down to that. I still have 2 months until this race, and I’m hoping that I can heal quickly and get back to running so I can run at least half this race. I’m a little discouraged right now though.

It’s been a bit of a tough month for me in terms of running. I haven’t run much in the last 3 weeks at all, and even without that I’m still having some pain at times. I wish I had the excitement I had the first few weeks while training…

Now it’s your turn to share! What’s one of your accomplishments from the week? 

