Tags

, ,

I’m at 8 weeks already? WOW, time sure is flying quickly! In many ways I feel like I’m behind where I was 8 weeks ago, due to being sidelined by shin splints. I haven’t run in a week, and I’m not feeling any pain while I walk around throughout the day, so that’s a good sign I think.

Here’s the breakdown from the week:

  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: 3.1 miles elliptical
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: 2 miles elliptical
  • Friday: Strengthen and Stretch (primarily yoga with some planks and other exercises thrown in)- 35 minutes
  • Saturday: 2.95 mile walk

Total Miles: 5.1 elliptical + 2.95 walk = 8.05 overall miles for the week

Lesson Learned: I kind of feel like there hasn’t been much of any lesson this week. Maybe that rest is a good thing, as is listening to your body?

Biggest Struggle: Not trying and making excuses. Here’s what I mean: I’ve noticed that I am easily tempted by the thinking that “on race day these two extra miles on the elliptical aren’t going to make a difference”. I use that excuse almost every day, although I did push through that excuse a few times. But, the fact of the matter is, it really does seem like those 2 miles won’t make or break me. I have to remind myself though that those 2 miles can easily become three weeks (until I can hopefully run again), and that will make a difference.

There hasn’t been any major accomplishments for me this week, as I’m not adding on mileage right now. One big accomplishment might be that I did the elliptical twice this week. The last time I did that was in the Spring of 2008, so it’s been about 4 years since I last did that.

Now it’s your turn to share! Are you injured or sick at all right now? What’s one accomplishment you experienced this week? 

