I’m fairly sure that I’m getting the dreaded shin splints. I’ve tried to do everything right, but, you know, sometimes things just happen. i really haven’t increased my mileage too much or too quickly, and I always foam roll, stretch, and ice after runs. I went on a 2 mile run on Tuesday that was absolutely fantastic, and that was the last time I worked out. After 5 weeks of working out 4-5 times a week, I did almost nothing. I thought I would still bike so that I still got cardio, but at the same time my shins started hurting I got this nasty cold that has left me coughing frequently, I almost completely lost my voice for a few days, and a sore throat. So, while I was disappointed to do this, I decided to listen to my body and take the week off.

In reality, this was pretty good timing, as this was a drop down week in my training schedule, meaning I only had 2 2-mile runs and 1 3-mile run scheduled. Because of this, I at least don’t feel like I’m missing much of anything important.

I think I caught them right at the beginning, because after 1 day of rest I stopped feeling them as I was walking around. I’ve iced 3-4 times a day, worn compression socks in the evening, and sat with my leg elevated. I haven’t had any pain in my shin for a number of days now, but obviously don’t want to start running again too quickly and aggravate them further.

For those of you who’ve experienced shin splints at some point: What’s one of your favorite things to do to help heal shin splints? How long of a break would you take if you were in my position?Β 

