An alternative title to this post might be “how being in shape saved me from an unfortunate situation.”

I’m following a training plan, so generally speaking when I wake up in the morning, I know what I’m going to do for the day. I’m organized and a planner so I enjoy this. However, occasionally we end up getting some workouts that we don’t necessarily plan. These are the things that happen because of things that pop up in life, whether it be an emergency, chores, yard work, or something similar to that.

I had the opportunity to get in some speed work on Monday. Now, speed work was not listed on my training plan for the day, but I found myself in a situation where it was a necessity. I was flying home from a weekend trip on Monday morning, and had a very short layover in an airport. Unfortunately, by the time I got off the flight my next flight had been boarding for about 15 minutes. I had 2 terminals to get through, plus riding the little tram. Carrying a 20 pound back pack and dragging my carry-on suitcase behind me, I got in a solid 25 minute speed work run. I would sprint as fast as I could for a few minutes, and when I could hardly breathe I would speed walk for a minute or two to bring my heart rate down, and then I’d sprint again. I was dripping (I’m not exaggerating here) with sweat by the time I arrived at my gate, but I made it. Whew. I’m definitely not used to sprinting with all the extra weight on me. LUCKILY I had worn my running shoes on the flight, because if I was in heels I definitely wouldn’t have made the flight. I made it with about a minute to spare, so any slower and I wouldn’t have made it.

And this is where I see the benefits of exercising pay off. If I wasn’t in shape and if I wasn’t used to running, there’s no way I would’ve been able to sprint the 25 minutes and make it to my next flight. I would’ve missed my flight, and would’ve been stuck in the airport for hours trying to get in on a later flight. I wouldn’t have gotten home in time to go grocery shopping and unpack before going to bed, and I wouldn’t have had food for lunch on Tuesday. A few years ago, I wouldn’t have made that flight, because I wouldn’t have been fast enough. A lot of people I know would’ve missed the flight. See. Exercise DOES pay off.

And also, if you were in the airport on Monday and you heard a girl screaming “EXCUSE ME” down the walk way as she was sprinting by, sorry about that. I did what I had to do…

Now you get to share: When have you gotten in an unexpected work out before? What is one pay off of exercising or healthy living that you have seen lately? Do you wear practical shoes while flying, or do you like to dress up a bit? 

