Tags

, , , ,

My first month of training is now over, and I’m really happy with how it’s gone so far. This was by far my favorite week of running and cross training, and all my runs felt strong.

Here’s the breakdown of the week:

  • Sunday: rest
  • Monday: 2.5 mile run
  • Tuesday: 5 miles on elliptical
  • Wednesday: rest
  • Thursday: 2 mile run
  • Friday: 1 mile walk
  • Saturday: 5 mile run, 1 mile walk (at very slow pace) in the evening

Total Miles: 9.5 miles running + 7 miles cross training = 16.5 miles total miles. Overall this week I actually ran the same number of miles this week, which I was ok with. My monday run was fantastic, and done at a faster speed then I’ve done for that distance before, and my 5 mile run felt strong. I’ve only run 5 miles one time before (at the end of October- you can read about that big accomplishment here), and I ran it today in 5 minutes less then I ran it 3 months ago. YAY- progress, right?

Lesson Learned: When I run after work I need to be intentional about how I snack in the afternoon. On Tuesday I didn’t have enough calories in a snack before I worked out, and while I was fine working out, by the time I sat down for dinner, I felt sick and dizzy. No good. I had a glass of almond milk after the run before I stretched, foam rolled, and showered, but I guess that wasn’t enough.

Biggest Struggle: My IT bands. They get so tight after runs, even with foam rolling. They haven’t been bothersome while I’m running, but the day or two after running it always hurts to walk down stairs.

Now you get to share: What’s one accomplishment you’ve had recently? What’s your favorite way to fuel after a run? 

