In my post on Friday I made a big announcement: I’m starting to train for my first half marathon! I finished the 1st week of training, and thought I would recap it here. I should start by saying that my training is 18 weeks, which is much longer then the approximately 12 weeks that most training plans call for. I want to build mileage slowly, and be able to take some “rest weeks” with decreased mileage to try to decrease the likelihood of injury.

This week was all about getting back into running, as I had basically not gone on a run since the second week of December. This is what I did for the week:

  • Sunday: Rest
  • Monday: Pilates and Core Strengthening
  • Tuesday: 2 mile run
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: 2.5 mile run
  • Friday: Stretching and Core Strengthening
  • Saturday: 3.3 mile run

Total miles: 7.8 miles

Each run this week got progressively easier as I loosened up from the long break from running. Wednesday will normally be my cross training day, and my “long run” will take place on either Saturday or Sunday (aiming for Saturday). I’ve built in 2 rest days and at least 2 days of Pilates, yoga, or other core strengthening activity. I’m also stretching and FOAM ROLLING after every run.

Lesson Learned: The miles tend to fly by much faster when I’m on the road instead of the treadmill. By about 1.5 mi in on the treadmill I’m getting really antsy. Also, my shins hurt more while running on the treadmill. Is this just a weird thing with me, or has anyone else experienced this?

Biggest Struggle: My thoughts! The minute I created my 18 week training plan, doubts began to fill my head. I watch people run on the treadmill at the gym. They run faster, easier, longer… and I begin to doubt myself. I’m developing a good plan to fight these thoughts. Running certainly is mental exercise as much as physical exercise.

Now it’s your turn: Would you rather run on the road or on the treadmill? What’s your favorite stretch after exercising? 

