When training for a race or engaging in exercise, people talk about how important it is to put in at least one rest day each week to help avoid injury. After my half marathon walk on Monday, my right foot in particular has been hurting a bit. I was torn: continue to work out and run like I wanted to, or give my foot a few days of a rest and ice and stretch it to avoid injury. I’ll be honest- I wanted to run, but I knew that in the long run icing and resting was probably best. I’ve been so antsy the last few days as I’ve iced and stretched, and dreamed of running (yes- I DO dream about it. If that makes me crazy, so be it).

What it comes down to it, what we want to do and what is healthy for us to do doesn’t always line up. When it doesn’t line up, we have to make a choice. Do we go for short term pleasure or long term health?

Tonight my “rest night” includes icing my foot, working on a presentation, and watching a movie with a friend.

Seems like a pretty good night to me.

Now it’s your turn: Are you good at taking rest days, or do they frustrate you?Β 

