I’m on my way to the visitation and funeral for my friend, and it still hardly seems real. I suppose reality will set in soon once I get to the funeral home, or more likely on the drive there. I’m certainly not looking forward to the next 24 hours. Between traveling and prepping for my tri, I’ve read a few interesting articles this week that I thought were interesting. Check them out!

Some trucks carry unsafe food: A recent report discussed how many of the trucks that carry our food to grocery stores and restaurants don’t keep our food in the safe temperature range. In fact, they found some trucks storing food at 60 or even 100 degrees- enough to make us sick! This article was an interesting read.

Is your doctor burned out? While this article is specifically geared toward the medical professions, I think assessing our own burnout (or behaviors leading to burnout) is critical in order to be healthy. This article stuck out to me because one of the major topics I speak on is burnout, and I work hard to help my clients develop strategies in college to help them avoid burnout later on in their careers.

So You Wanna Do A Triathlon: This is actually a series that Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point wrote this past year. I linked to one of the posts, and you can find the other posts in her series at the top. I’ve gone back and read and re-read this series a number of times in the last few weeks as I prepare for my own triathlon.

Healthy Living Freed Me To Truly Live: Inspirational. Interesting to think about what healthy living freed you from or freed you to be able to do!

West Nile Spreading Farther and Faster This Season: West Nile Cases are on the rise, and it’s important to engage in behaviors to help you avoid mosquito bites! Make sure to protect yourself.

Black Bean Guacamole: No, I haven’t tried this yet, but I have it starred in google reader and I intend to try it soon! It sounds delicious and healthy.

Nutrition Talk: Have Your Cake and Eat It Too: Tina from Best Body Fitness writes about moderation and how to enjoy dessert while still being healthy!

